IS300, 30-6050, LQ9 Misfire Issues | AEM
21 posts / 0 new
Last post
XtremeCoupe
IS300, 30-6050, LQ9 Misfire Issues

Hello,

Let me preface this by saying that I'm not a professional tuner and I don't claim to be. I have a 2002 IS300 that is equipped with the AEM Series 2 (30-6050). Over the course of the last few months, I have performed several upgrades to the car including an LQ9 coil conversion from Mojo Performance. Using information/settings found on the internet, I was able to get the car up and running with the new coils relatively easily.

Here's a quick rundown of what is going on:

- Originally had dwell set to around 3.0ms and was already experiencing misfiring/breakup at around 6000 RPM under vaccum (no load). Pulled dwell back to around 2.5ms and it seemed to fix the issue.

- After a couple test drives, everything seemed to be working pretty well so I took the car over to my dyno to get everything dialed in only to run into more ignition issues. At 10 PSI, I started experiencing misfiring/blowout at around 5500 RPM. I adjusted the RPM-based coil dwell table to pull dwell back to around 2.1ms by around 7000 RPM and it pulled smooth to 7000 RPM.

- Slowly started increasing boost and at 16 PSI, I started experiencing more misfiring/blowout. I didn't feel comfortable pulling dwell back any further, so I decided to tighten up the gap on the spark plugs. The plugs were brand new Denso Iridium IK27 plugs with a stock gap of around .028". I had an extra set of new plugs so I tightened the gap down to around .020" and installed the new plugs. No more misfiring/blowout at 16 PSI.

- Again started increasing boost and ran into another misfire/blowout wall at around 23-24 PSI. At this point I don't feel comfortable lowering the dwell or decreasing the spark plug gap any further so I just decided to call it quits and leave it below 23-24 PSI for now.

Some other information: